Home

Spam is a growing problem for all mail users, and there are a couple of things you can do on the receiving end to alleviate these problems.

On the mail server, there are 4 main filtering options for any given mail domain. If you are a high-level mail administrator you can specify

  * No spam filter for any accounts
  * Spam filter is configured individually per account
  * Spam is sorted into each account's Junk folder for all accounts
  * Spam is marked with ***SPAM*** in the subject field for all accounts

If you select "No spam filter for any accounts", nothing will be done for incoming mail. Both spam and regular mail will end up in your Inbox. If you administer an email domain and don't have the ability to select the filtering as outlined above, you can ask us to change the filtering for you.

Selecting "Spam filter is configured individually per account" means that filtering can be configured individually for each user. After selecting this you can enter the preferences menu for each account and specify what kind of filtering that user should have.

Selecting "Spam is sorted into each account's Junk folder for all accounts" means that mail messages the system believes to the Spam will be sent to the Junk folder. You can then access this Junk folder through the webmail interface, or by subscribing to the Junk folder on your IMAP-configured desktop mail client. It is important to note here that users that use POP to access their email have to review their Junk folder through webmail to make sure that legitimate email hasn't been caught up in the Junk folder. This is the recommended way to deal with Spam on our system.

Selecting "Spam is marked with ***SPAM*** in the subject field for all accounts" means that all Spam messages will end up in your Inbox, with messages the mail system believes is Spam is tagged with ***SPAM*** in the Subject field.

It is worth noting that mail messages in the Junk and Trash folders are deleted automatically after 30 days (meaning that a Spam message received in the Junk folder on the 1st of December will be deleted on the 30th of December automatically).